UIDAI completes biometric update of 2 crore school children

The Unique Identification Authority of India has completed mandatory biometric updates for over 2 crore school children through camps in 1.56 lakh schools. Greater Kashmir reports that the drive, started in September 2025, used integration with the education ministry's UDISE+ database to identify children due for updates. UIDAI has waived fees for children aged 7-15 until September 30, 2026, while ages 5-7 and 15-17 remain free.

UIDAI completes 2 crore biometric updates for school children

MediaNama questions the consent process, noting no public consent form exists and the Digital Personal Data Protection Act's child-data safeguards were not yet operative. It raises concerns about using UDISE+, originally built to track enrolment, for biometric capture. MediaNama also notes that warnings about exam registration failures may pressure parents to consent.

Both sources agree that outdated biometrics can cause authentication failures for exams such as NEET, JEE and CUET. UIDAI and MeitY have not disclosed how many parents declined consent, the consent form used, or the legal instrument authorising the UDISE+ integration.

Indian Opinion Analysis

Greater Kashmir's report is a straight government press release, framing the 2-crore update as a milestone achieved through school camps and fee waivers, with no mention of consent. MediaNama takes a government-critical stance: it questions the absence of a public consent form, the legality of using the UDISE+ database beyond its original purpose, and the pressure parents face when warned about exam registration failures. The deeper issue lies in the new delivery route: biometric updates inside schools bypass the privacy safeguards that the DPDP Act will soon require. A careful reader should note that the exercise was legally valid under the Aadhaar Act, but the consent form and data-linkage instrument remain undisclosed, and the number of parents who declined is not stated. The next date to watch is September 30, 2026, when the fee waiver expires.

Coverage: 2 sources, 1 pro-government, 1 government-critical


Sources (2): greaterkashmir.com (pro government), medianama.com (government critical)

This story was synthesised by AI from the 2 sources linked above. Methodology and corrections.

Updated: this story now draws on 2 sources.

Ask their opinion on this story
They have read this article, our coverage, and the web.
AI simulations of historical figures. Responses are generated from the historical record, not authentic statements.

0 Votes: 0 Upvotes, 0 Downvotes (0 Points)

Share your opinion

Sign in to comment

Comments are open to readers with an Indian Opinion account. We email you a 6-digit code; there is no password.

Sign in to comment

Loading Next Post...
Search Trending
Ask their opinion
Loading

Signing-in 3 seconds...

Signing-up 3 seconds...

All fields are required.